Chess Not Checkers

Chess Not Checkers

Elevate Your Leadership Game

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

In the tradition of a business fable, author Mark Miller follows the story of fictional new CEO Blake Brown as he embarks on his first corporate leadership role turning around a failing company. The reasons for the failure are obvious from day one: a dysfunctional leadership team, an overflowing inbox that the previous CEO did not manage well, inconsistent operations and a sad corporate culture. There are no clear solutions until Blake meets his new mentor, Jack Deluca. As you can probably guess, Blake is genuine and well-meaning and he will encounter obstacles, resistance and push back. Will he triumph? Likely that is the way these business fables seem to go. In the tradition of The Wealthy Barber, Miller’s Book is an easy read that proposes seemingly simple guidelines about how to develop leaders, win over employee hearts, and so on. However, I’d love to hear from a leader who really took these ideas and transformed a company with these basic principles. While they’re great as values and guidelines, a real CEO is going to need a lot more to keep the business running and thriving.

 

Lisa Sansom